I May Withhold My Vote

I do not take this decision lightly, especially not after the email I received reminding me of the huge price the women in history paid, imprisonment, torture and discrimination, to assist in the fight in obtaining for us the right to vote.

Having said that, both candidates increasingly disturb me!  I honestly feel that with either choice will come consequences and a rough future for the people.  And lest I forget to mention, judgement from God on this nation for removing Him as the foundation of the country.

To be even more candid, I can’t trust a word McCain says…just watch him contradicting himself in “McCain vs McCain” on YouTube.  He says what people want to hear at the risk of (constantly) sticking his foot in his mouth.  Then of course there’s Palin, still undergoing investigation in the trooper scandal.  This just in!  She abused her power….DUH.  (You know it’s ironic that McCain actually contributed to the pregnancy of Palin’s 17 year old daughter in that he voted against funding teen prenancy programs in schools.)

I’m a registered Republican.  I believe in the party’s morals and values, but I don’t believe in the current leaders and candidate.  I think they hide behind this ‘Christian/conservative’ curtain (like gay marriage and abortion) and, like children, play war games and money (oil) games.  Well, I agree with your values but I am disappointed by your ulterior motives.  It disgusts me. 

Finally, we have Obama.  Who I was going to vote for.  (I still have their sticker on my car actually…but I’m taking it off today.)  I told myself that my misgivings about him were biased and prejudice.  I forced myself to give him the benefit of the doubt and chalk the Muslim stories up to negative propaganda.  Well, maybe it is, maybe it ain’t.  I wanted to read his book (I think it’s called…)  Memoirs of my Father..??  I don’t know.  Anyway, I would still like very much to read it if I can before the election.  Supposedly in there I will find the stories about him proven one way or the other.  Reading his words and the context in which he wrote will help me understand the quotes I’ve heard from the book.  In particular, “If things get ugly, I will stand with the Muslims.”  SCARY

So I think I’m withholding my vote this year!

No comments yet»

Leave a comment